Have a burnt cookie…

35oiht

Shane Windmeyer is a gay rights activitist.  Apparently, he and Dan Cathy, the Chick-Fil-A anti-LGBT bigot have been calling, texting, and e-mailing.

Shane Windmeyer has met face to face with Cathy. Cathy no longer is funding groups that are actively trying to prevent marriage equality;  just groups that don’t condone gay marriage.

And Cathy hasn’t changed his beliefs about gay people being people who deserve love and rights.

So, thumbs up! Back to eating chicken sandwiches, agitators! AMIRITE?

No.

Now, I am not a gay person. So, this is just my personal opinion. I’m not trying to question or dismiss Shane Windmeyer, but he met the guy and he didn’t have horns. Cathy met Windmeyer and he DOESN’T have horns either.

The result? Windmeyer now admits he is a friend of Cathy’s and he’s a HUMAN. Cathy stopped funding hate groups, but still doesn’t realize that love isn’t restricted to straight people.

I have problems with this.

Windmeyer, by meeting Cathy, and not getting spit on…thinks Cathy is a okay. Cathy still thinks he doesn’t deserve to marry the person he loves.

I married outside of my race. If I were in this same situation, I would not write an article proclaiming Dan Cathy’s humanity because he still thinks my marriage is an abomination.

Bad people still have manners. They still look human.

Maybe I have the luxury to feel that way because I, as a straight person, fully enjoy that right. Windmeyer may feel the need to go for the velvet glove instead of the iron fist to get Cathy and his ilk to come around.

Here is where I REALLY start to have issues.

I repeatedly see this notion that those in the disadvantaged situation must convince and pamper those preventing THEIR rights into coming over to their way of thinking. They must be “tolerant” to intolerance. So, those who are trying to prevent rights are fully within the realm of reasonableness to act like petulant children because people not like them might get something that they fully enjoy. Those within the group being insulted? They must take the “high road”.

What utter horseshit.

Dan Cathy made a PR move in an attempt to get business back. The only people impressed by this are people who have never been in a position of disadvantage where breadcrumbs were thrown to shut them up. Dan Cathy is still a narrow minded bigot. Since when is being a decent human being worthy of a gold star? You’re SUPPOSED to not be an asshole.

He doesn’t get a cookie for still hating people.

Actually, I take that back.

I made a special cookie for Dan Cathy. I put it in the oven and walked away. I forgot all about his special cookies but at least I MADE HIM COOKIE BATTER AND PUT THEM IN THE OVEN.

So, here Dan, here is the best I could do for you: a big ole batch of half assed burnt cookies. I fully expect you to eat every single one and talk about how great they are. Isn’t that a great gift that I’ve given you?

This entry was posted in Bigotry, Bullshit, Cookies, Overrated Adulthood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment